Philip Paine

Philip was appointed conductor of Burnside Symphony Orchestra in 2013.

Philip completed his Bachelor of Music at the Tasmanian Conservatorium of Music in 1988. He took up his first appointment in Sydney as a tutti horn player with the Elizabethan Theatre Trust, now the Australian Opera & Ballet Orchestra. In 1992 he was appointed to a position in the Adelaide Symphony Orchestra. He completed a Masters degree in performance at the University of Adelaide in 1995.

Philip has performed with the Queensland, Tasmanian and Melbourne Symphony Orchestras and the Adelaide Chamber Orchestra in tutti and principal positions. He has played as a member of the Adelaide Brass Quintet and performed as soloist with the Burnside and Unley Symphony Orchestras, Barossa Chamber Music Festival and Adelaide Symphony Orchestra.

Philip is horn tutor at the Elder Conservatorium of Music. He has also been a tutor for the Australian Youth Orchestra and specialist in brass for AYO auditions.

Philip’s introduction to conducting was in 1988 with the Glenorchy City Concert Brass. In 2009 he was appointed music director of the Hahndorf Town Band and, in 2010 was conductor of the Adelaide Sinfonia.

Past conductors

Past BSO conductors include:

John Black 1956-1963
Malcolm John 1964-1966
David Cubbin 1967-1968
Robert Cooper 1968-1981
Jim Ferguson 1982-1988
Alphonse Anthony 1989-1993
Bruce Stewart
David Sharp
Joanna Drimatis
Neil Thompson
Kevin Cameron
Martin Butler 1984-2006
Alwin Kidney
Kim Worley
Bryan Griffiths 2010-2012

Copyright © 2013 Burnside Symphony Orchestra. All rights reserved.